Advocate

Standard

One of my favorite songs by far, is “Advocate” by my brother in-law Justin. When I listen to it, it moves me from the inside out and I feel like I can take on the world, because the Lord is my advocate. Who can harm me or be against me when HE is for me?

I am the silent type.  But, show me a cause or a person who needs an advocate, then I am all over it.

My dad is a Lieutenant  firefighter. One year, the city threatened to take away the Maltese Cross symbol. When I heard about this  I was distraught. How could they possibly take away such a beautiful and strong symbol that honored firefighters, especially my daddy. I LOVE my dad, I really do! The moment I heard that someone was going to take away his symbol, I wrote an e-mail. I don’t even remember who it was to, but it was to someone who held a high position in the little town of Stillwater. I am sure my dad would be able to tell me who I sent it to, because the very next day they spoke with my dad and shared the e-mail to him.
I was kind of embarrassed because I thought that I got him in trouble. But, dangit, somebody had to say something, and boy did I do that.

I share that story because I love advocating for people I love and believe in.

Sometimes in my trials I struggle with letting God be my advocate or my sweet husbands advocate.
Sometimes I don’t understand how people can be so cruel. I feel like I need to step in and set these people straight, give them a piece of my mind. As much as that would make me feel better, it would probably do no good, nor is it what we are commanded to do.

I have been searching for verses to set me straight and fix my eyes and heart to the One who knows all and heals all.

Ephesians 4:29-32 says,

“Let no corrupting talk come out of your mouths, but only such as is good for building up, as fits the occasion, that it may give grace to those who hear. And do not grieve the Holy Spirit of God, by whom you were sealed for the day of redemption. Let all bitterness and wrath and anger and clamor and slander be put away from you, along with all malice. Be kind to one another, tenderhearted, forgiving one another, as God in Christ forgave you.”

It reads, “Let NO corrupting talk come out of your mouths” It doesn’t give exceptions.

What we do and say can profoundly effect the person you are directing it to.

Next time you want to be sarcastic or you want to throw in just one more “jab”, remember that it hurts that person and they carry that heavy weight along and they bring it home with them.

Just a thought.

 

One response »

Leave a Reply

